Makrinitsa. Makrinitsa is also called “the balcony of Pelion.” That name was given to the square of Pelion after a visit by Eleftherios Venizelos (a prominent Greek politician) in 1934. This is one of the most characteristic villages with grand mansions and beautiful houses that, like jewels, seem to hang against the mountainside.
The square with its ancient plane trees provides a panoramic view of Volos and the Pagasitikos Gulf. On this large square, are various terraces and it is gorgeous. The famous "Theofilos" cafe is located here. In this coffee house a large mural of the painter Theofilos is preserved. The picturesque cobbled streets of Makrinitsa are full of traditional fountains from which the water flows continuously.
The Museum of Folk Art and History of Pelion is located in Topali manor. This is a folklore museum which contains a fully reconstructed house furnished with icons, jewellery, clothing, Turkish writs, books, tools, municipal archives, banners, stone busts and weapons.
Text: Jorgos and Wendy Nikolidakis - Text edited by Katrina Butzer